Counting begins for 2300 corporators from 6 metros of Gujarat

Gandhinagar, 23 February 2021

Voting was held on Sunday, 21 February 2021 for the 575 seats of the six municipal corporations of Gujarat, Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Jamnagar, Bhavnagar. The counting of votes has started on 23 February 2021 at 9 am. Counting for 2300 corporators from 6 metros has started.

Voting was held on February 21 in 144 wards in Ahmedabad, Surat, Vadodara, Rajkot, Bhavnagar and Jamnagar. Compared to the 2015 local body elections, turnout in all these municipal seats was down by 5 percent.

Till 6 pm on Sunday, the polling in all the civic bodies was 41.75 percent. In 2015, the average turnout was 47 percent.

The lowest turnout was in Ahmedabad. The average turnout was 38.73 percent in Ahmedabad, 45.74 percent in Rajkot, 42.72 percent in Surat, 42.82 percent in Vadodara, 43.66 percent in Bhavnagar and 49.64 percent in Jamnagar.

Voters were angered by the complete failure of Vijay Rupani’s BJP government in Gujarat and Narendra Modi’s BJP government at the Center. So they came out short to vote.