More than 20 non-Gujarati councilors are in Ahmedabad with Gayaprasad Kanaujia

Ahmedabad, 15 June 2020
BJP councilor Gayaprasad Kanaujia of Bhayapura-Hatakeshwar ward of Ahmedabad died on Sunday night while undergoing treatment for Kovid-19. He was not from Gujarat. Belonged to Uttar Pradesh. Gujarat has given a lot to AMC councilors called Gujaratis. He believed in this.

The city has long been electing non-Gujaratis to positions of power. The sitting body of the AMC has more than 20 non-Gujarati councilors from 48 wards out of 192. The city has also had mayors of other states. Since independence, Ahmedabad elected four mayors, who were from Uttar Pradesh, Telangana, Rajasthan or Punjab. These include both Congress and BJP. The list includes Rafiuddin Sheikh (1980, UP), Anisha Mirza (2003, Telangana), Nandlal Wadhwa (1996, Punjab), Himmat Singh Patel (2000, Rajasthan).

The city’s non-Gujarati councilors hail from Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Telangana and Maharashtra. The body has served as the chairman of the standing committee and leader of the opposition to non-Gujaratis. For the Leader of the Opposition in the AMC, Dinesh Sharma, a native of Agra, UP, has been living in the city for 35 years, this being his third term as an elected representative in the AMC.

Arun Singh Rajput, a councilor from Chandkheda, is a native of Azamgarh, UP. OP Tiwari, a native of Gorakhpur, whose family is settled in Varanasi, won the Sardaranagar seat on Congress ticket after 38 years. Gayaprasad Kanaujia, a native of Unnao in UP, has been made his home in the city since 1965. He was elected from the Bhayapura ward for the second time.