Gujarat’s 5 biggest philanthropists announced, two of India’s top 10 philanthropists

12 November 2020

The list of Indian generous businessmen was released by Haroon India and Aldgiv. The list also included five Gujarat businessmen. Azim Premji has given the most donations from India, but Gautam Adani has given the most donations from Gujarat. Adani made a donation of Rs 88 crore during the year 2019-20.

In second place are Sudhir Mehta and Samir Mehta of Torrent Healthcare. Their combined donation is Rs 21 crore. The five industrialists of Gujarat together donated a total of Rs 15 crore. Here is the details of where they rank in the list of Gujarati philanthropists and total philanthropists. Out of five Gujarat businessmen, two have donated for education, two for healthcare and one for arts and culture.

Gujarati Bhamasha

1 Gautam Adani (Adani) – 88 Rs. Crores

10 Sudhir-Samir Mehta (Torrent) – 81 Rs. Crores

45 Pankaj Patel (Cadila) – 16 Rs. Crores

89 Karasanbhai Patel (Nirma) – 8 Rs. Crores

105 Bhadresh Shah (AIA Engg.) 6 Rs. Crores

Azim Premji, India’s largest philanthropist, donates Rs 22 crore per day

The biggest philanthropist in India or Bhamasha is Azim Premji of Wipro. He has donated Rs 7904 crore in a year. That is an estimated Rs 22 crore a day.

Second on the list is Shiv Nadar of HCL Technology, who has donated Rs 795 crore. In third place is Mukesh Ambani with Rs 458 crore. Gujarat’s leading industrialist Adani has also been very stingy in donating. He ranks ninth with a paltry sum of Rs 88 crore.

After Korona, Azim Premji announced a donation of Rs 1,125 crore on April 1. It is also included in this amount. Premji has already announced to donate 67 per cent of his santapi.

India’s Top 10 Philanthropists Bhamasha:

  1. Azim Prameji (Wipro) – 7904
  2. Shiv Nadar Family (HCL) – 795
  3. Mukesh Ambani (Reliance) – 458
  4. Kumar Mangalam Birla (Aditya Birla) – 276
  5. Anil Agarwal (Vedanta) – 215
  6. Ajay Piramal (Piramal) – 196
  7. Nandan Nilekani (Infosys) – 159
  8. Hinduja Brothers (Hinduja) – 133
  9. Gautam Adani (Adani) – 88
  10. Rahul Bajaj (Bajaj) – 74